Museum Dräi Eechelen: fortress, history, identity
The Musée Dräi Eechelen – fortress, history, identity, inaugurated in 2012, is situated in the extraordinary restored keep of the historic fort Thüngen, built in 1732-33. Each of the casemates in the permanent exhibition illustrates a different era of the fortress and its influence on the country’s history. The tour begins in the Middle Ages with the capture of the city of Luxembourg by the Burgundians in 1443, and ends with the construction of the Pont Adolphe in 1903. More than 600 objects and original documents, many of which have never been shown before, highlight the diversity of the collections. A special room houses a selection of historical photographs which present the fortress immediately before and after it was razed. The historic building of the museum constitutes in itself an important element of the permanent exhibition. With its impressive underground galleries and mines, it corresponds to a large extent to the original condition during the last phase of its expansion in 1836/1837. The visitor is invited to explore important themes of the permanent exhibition through an interactive database and audio-visual documentation in the multimedia room. Free audio guides supply detailed explanations for many objects in French, English, German and Luxembourgish. An auditorium regularly provides the facilities for conferences or screenings in relation to the exhibitions. The first floor is dedicated to temporary exhibitions.
For more information, please visit http://www.m3e.public.lu/fr/index.html